

Competition Committee

The Competition Committee is created by the ERCU Board of Directors, in accordance with the ERCU Bylaws to establish, maintain and regulate safe and fair competition. Specific duties and responsibilities of the committee are determined by the ERCU Board of Directors.

ERCU's process for modifying and interpreting rules is systematic and consensus-oriented, resulting in competition directives and recommendations to the board of directors – and eventually the full membership – for consideration of permanent change in the rule book.

The Competition Committee reviews all competitive aspects of the sport – including (but not limited to) racing rules, protests, and regulations. The committee's authority includes the ability to issue a Competition Directive to clarify, interpret, or improve a rule.

The committee's deliberative process may take into consideration input of national and regional experts.

A Competition Directive made during the racing season will be done with the intent to amend, clarify or interpret a rule. The Competition Directive shall become effective upon the date of the decision, regardless of when club members receive actual notice. A Competition Directive may be formulated at a race site verbally but must be written and submitted to the board of directors and posted on the website within 24 hours of the decision.

The ERCU Board of Directors shall act upon recommendation from the Competition Committee to prohibit the use of any part, component and/or system it deems would give a boat an unfair competitive advantage.

The Competition Committee will meet as needed – either in person, via telephone/email/or virtual meeting – during the ERCU racing season.

In compliance with the ERCU Bylaws, the board of directors created the committee, and recruited the members to serve on the committee. There shall be no board members on the Competition Committee. The committee shall have a minimum of three, and a maximum of five, members seated at any given time.

2023-24 Competition Committee Members

- Gerry Bordon, chair
- Brian Buaas
- Dennis Caines
- Jay Fonville
- Mike Hughes